Award-winning illustrator Daryl Feril and his cool beyond the rules Save My Bag collection

image

Negros-based, award-winning illustrator Daryl Feril joins Kiana Valenciano in executing a special, bespoke collection of Save My Bag from Bergamo, Italy, for the Little White Box Pop-up Store in SM Megamall.

image

The said collection calls for Feril to customize each bag with his unique illustrations, upon the clients request, and under the guidance of Kiana as creative team captain.

Feril, a Fine Arts graduate from La Consolacion College Bacolod, has worked previously with such top brands such as Alexandra Mor New York, Bloom Miami, Tory Burch, Lee Jeans, LVMH, among others. Not only that, he was also featured in the edgy Juxtapose Magazine published out of San Francisco. Some of the prestigious awards he has received are: Silver Metal – Best Design – Editorial, Magazine Cover: aDoBo Design Awards 2015, Philippines; and 150 Emerging Talents in Art, Design, Illustration & Photography: ASIAN CREATIVES by Ubies, Tokyo.
After a series of meetings, and subsequent creative discussions, Daryl was ready to interpret and execute Kianas vision for the collection: bespoke, with no two bags identical.
I really wanted to work on something local and Kiana couldnt have been a better partner,” he says.
Working with the bags material, hi-tech Poly-Lycra, which makes it lightweight and waterproof, was a challenge for Daryl.

image

image

What attracted me to Save My Bag? Its the quality and its purpose. And of course the idea of painting something on the bag which I thought of doing before but didn’t think that I could. It was my first time painting on fabric and it’s a bit challenging but I’m glad it turned out well,” Daryl continues.
And so, paint brush in hand, Daryl then worked on turning the bags into unique canvases, where he was able to express himself freely. My idea is that, you can carry art through the different bags, Daryl relates. Each  bag in the collection features different designs, thereby making them truly bespoke. But I also wanted the them to be close to my illustration style.

What then, exactly, is Daryls illustration and artistic style? Its a burst of floral, taking cues from nature which for me has some of the craziest patterns, colors and creatures, he explains. Inspirations evolve; sometimes they are based on what I observe around or through the people I meet. And as this is a collaborative effort,  I took in inputs from Kiana too. 

And a cursory look of Daryls unique bag creations for Save My Bag reveal all that and moreeach one a window into his soul.

Dont miss Save My Bag at the Little White Box Pop-Up store, the style portal for various international brands, opening at 3/F SM Megamall, Mandaluyong City.   

Leave a comment